COVID-19 Updates


Temporary Waiver of Delinquent Interest

On March 20, 2020, Governor Polis signed an Executive Order granting County Treasurers the authority to waive delinquent interest on late tax payments. This Executive Order will remain in effect for 30 days, until April 20, 2020. Based on this Executive Order, Treasurer Sue Sandstrom will waive interest as follows:

For those taxpayers who did not make a first half tax payment by the March 2 due date, and those who would now have difficulty making a full payment by the April 30 due date, you may now make the first half payment of your tax liability by April 20, 2020, and interest will be waived. Your second half payment will then be due by June 15.

Full payments remain due by April 30, and payments made after April 30 will still be subject to delinquent interest, unless the Governor extends the Executive Order, or the State Legislature provides statutory relief.

For those taxpayers who have already made a first half payment, your second half payment is due by June 15. If not made by June 15, such payments will still be subject to delinquent interest, unless the Governor extends the Executive Order or the State Legislature provides statutory relief. 

IMPORTANT: Please note that due to automation features, our online and over-the-phone payment system cannot waive interest. To take advantage of the waiver of interest on first half payments, you must mail your payment to our office or utilize the ballot box outside of the Administration Building as a drop box.

Payments remitted by mortgage companies and title agencies are not included in this waiver of first half payment interest. Interest on delinquent payments from prior years and redemption interest on tax liens are also excluded from this waiver. 

Limited Payment Locations During County Closure

During the county closure, property tax payments will still be accepted. Those that wish to drop off their payments may put their payments in the Clerk and Recorder's Ballot Box outside of the Administration Building located at 5334 S. Prince St., Littleton, CO 80120. Please do not put cash in the ballot box. This is the ONLY dropbox location available during the closure. 

Payments made by mailonline, or over the phone will be accepted as normal. 


The Role of the County Treasurer

As the Arapahoe County Treasurer, Sue Sandstrom and her Office are responsible for collecting, investing and disbursing County funds. The Treasurer collects property taxes and distributes the revenue to the County and other local governments and public entities, including school districts.

In accordance with the Americans with Disabilities Act, information may be available in alternative formats upon request. Please contact the Treasurer's Office at 303-795-4550 for further assistance.

Additional Information

Applications for the Senior / Military Deferral are accepted Jan. 1 through April 1. For more information, contact the Treasurer's Office at 303-795-4550 or view the Rebates, Exemptions and Deferrals brochure.