Payment options for Registration and Titles:Our Motor Vehicle offices accept cash, checks, money orders and debit and credit cards (Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover). Checks must be payable to "Arapahoe County Clerk – Motor Vehicle" for the exact amount. We do not accept checks under $10.Please note that credit and debit card transactions over $10 are subject to a convenience fee of $0.75 + 2.25% of the total amount. This fee is not assessed or retained by Arapahoe County. It is required by a third-party vendor for the State of Colorado.
Show All Answers
Please use our Vehicle Fee Estimate Calculator to determine an estimate of your registration fees. This tool works for first-time registrations only and includes ownership taxes and license fees. It will not include sales tax and is not able to estimate fees for a renewal.Have the MSRP available in order to correctly calculate the estimated fees.Note: Fees are based on the original MSRP and not the purchase price.
The MSRP will be provided in the title documents submitted by the selling dealership. If you do not have the original documents you should contact the selling dealer to obtain the MSRP for your vehicle. Arapahoe County cannot provide the MSRP for your vehicle.
Colorado has established vehicle emissions testing programs to protect our air quality. Your vehicle registration renewal postcard will indicate if your vehicle is due for an emissions test.Gas vehicles less than 7 model years old are exempt from emission testing. Diesel vehicles under 26,000 GVWR and less than 4 model years old are exempt from emission testing. Diesel vehicles 26,000 GVWR or more and 6 model years old or less are exempt from emission testing.Please visit https://aircarecolorado.com for more information.
If you financed a vehicle through a dealer/lender, your title paperwork must be completed by the dealership and County. This process takes up to 60 days. If it has been less than 55 days since your temporary tags were issued, please wait to receive a Title Complete postcard in the mail.Once you receive this postcard, you can then make an appointment at any Arapahoe County branch office to register your vehicle. See payment options and what to bring to your appointment on our Motor Vehicle registration page.You can check to see whether your title documents have been completed at mydmv.colorado.gov. Once your title documents are complete, make a title completion appointment at any Arapahoe County Motor Vehicle office. If your temporary tags will expire before your title documents are complete, please contact your dealership for a temp tag extension.
For first-time registration in Colorado, you must make an appointment and bring your documentation to an Arapahoe County motor vehicle office.
Make an appointment and view the documentation requirements for out-of-state vehicles.
Yes. Valid and current proof of auto insurance is required to register a vehicle in Colorado. Colorado has a minimum requirement of $25,000/$50,000 for insurance and liability coverage, and a $15,000 minimum for property damage.We accept the following as proof of insurance:
Yes, please visit mydmv.colorado.gov. If you recently moved and did not update your address with your county motor vehicle office, it’s likely the tabs were mailed to your previous address. Please verify you have updated your address prior to processing the tab replacement. Material fees will apply for the tab replacement.
For lost tabs/plates, please visit mydmv.colorado.gov for replacements.If your plates have been stolen, please fill out the Lost/Stolen License Plate Affidavit.You will need to fill out the form then mail it to our office along with the police report and a check or money order made out to “Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder-Motor Vehicle” for the amount of $13.73. Please note: this fee if for regular passenger plates only. If you have a different type of plate, please call 303-795-4500 for additional information.
Our Mailing Address is:
Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder’s OfficeMotor VehicleP.O. Box 9006Littleton, CO 80160-9011
If you have moved into Arapahoe County, please update your address online at mydmv.colorado.gov. Once that is completed you can receive registration information at your new address by mail. Please use these additional links to change your address on your Colorado Driver’s License or ID card, and your Voter Registration.
No. Please contact the county where you now reside. See this list of Colorado counties.
Please bring the bill of sale or invoice to your appointment to determine if a credit can be applied to your new registration.
No. You must renew your current registration.
Please see the State DMV’s website for requirements and more information at https://dmv.colorado.gov/persons-disabilities.
We do not process motor vehicle renewals over the phone.
Yes! You may renew your motor vehicle registration online at http://mydmv.colorado.gov. You will receive your printed registration and tabs in the mail in about 2 weeks from the State’s printing facility.
If you would like to mail in your renewal, please mail to:Arapahoe County Clerk and RecorderMotor VehicleP.O. Box 9011Littleton, CO 80160-9011. Please make sure to write your license plate number in the memo line of your check/money order. We also have Drop Boxes at all four Motor Vehicle locations you may utilize to drop off your renewal.
Your registration receipt shows the amount you paid in Specific Ownership and Prior Specific Ownership Tax. Make sure to retain a copy of your registration receipt for income tax purposes.
To see your sales tax rate, please enter your residential address at https://colorado.ttr.services/
Please contact our office for details at 303-795-4500.
Please visit any motor vehicle office location to apply for a duplicate title You can also request a duplicate title online at mydmv.colorado.gov.If you are coming to one of our offices please go to make your appointment online for a list of documents you must bring with you to your appointment.For additional information, please call us at 303-795-4500.
Please contact the state of issuance for assistance.