Report Abuse or Neglect
We receive reports 24 hours per day, 7 days a week from community members who are concerned about possible abuse and neglect of children, seniors and at-risk adults living in Arapahoe County.
- Call 9-1-1 if you believe a child or at-risk adult is immediate danger.
- Call 303-636-1750 or 1-844-CO-4-KIDS if you have concerns that a child or at-risk adult in Arapahoe County is being abused, neglected or exploited but is not in immediate danger.
Information Needed When Reporting
Your report is anonymous and confidential. Please provide as much information as possible about the alleged victim and the person responsible for the abuse/neglect, including contact information, circumstances, specific safety concerns and physical and behavioral indicators of both parties.
Colorado law requires professionals, such as school and child care personnel, social workers, medical personnel, law enforcement, licensed counselors, clergy members and others, to make a report if they have reason to believe a child is or will be subjected to abuse or neglect.
Training for Mandatory Reporters
Arapahoe County's Division of Child and Adult Protection Services offers free training upon request to groups of professionals working in Arapahoe County who are statutorily required under the Colorado Children’s Code to report known or suspected child abuse or neglect. Our trainers bring the presentation to groups of 10 or more.
The training for mandated reporters covers:
- How to identify physical and behavioral signs of child abuse and neglect
- How to report suspected abuse and neglect to the child welfare system
- What happens after you make a referral to Arapahoe County
- Information about reporting abuse, neglect, self-neglect and financial exploitation of seniors/at-risk adults.
Certificates of attendance are provided.
To request training, Email Mandatory Reporters.