2023 Arapahoe County Commissioner Redistricting

A map showing the five districts in Arapahoe County Opens in new windowRedistricting is a nonpartisan process to redraw county commissioner district boundaries so they accurately reflect population changes in Colorado counties.

Under State Statute (30-10-306, C.R.S.) boundaries for county commissioner districts must be redrawn every 10 years based on data from the most recent United States Census. Colorado voters also approved two amendments to the State Constitution (Amendments X and Y) that require the process be done in a nonpartisan manner.

Due to a nationwide delay in states receiving 2020 United States Census data, the Colorado State Legislature passed legislation last year to delay this process until 2022, to allow time to analyze data and adequately prepare. The new districts will be effective in the 2024 County Commissioner election. 

The Process

The first step is creating a Citizens Redistricting Advisory Committee. Amendments X and Y require such committees be made up of three members each from the Democratic and Republican parties, as well as three Unaffiliated members. 

The Committee will work with Arapahoe County staff to create at least three proposed county commissioner district maps. Next, the Arapahoe County Board of Commissioners will listen to public input on the maps and consider which one to adopt. 

Many safeguards apply to the process to ensure it is done in a fair, apolitical manner. As they draw proposed maps and decide upon a final map to adopt, the Citizens Redistricting Advisory Committee and the Board of County Commissioners will both consider specific criteria, such as:

  • Population growth,
  • Preserving communities of interest,
  • Making sure a new map will not give any commissioners a political advantage,
  • And other criteria.

Citizens Redistricting Advisory Committee

Arapahoe County is accepting applications for its Citizens Redistricting Advisory Committee.

Nine (9) total members will be appointed by the Board of County Commissioners to the Citizens Redistricting Advisory Committee: Three members registered with the Democratic Party, three members registered with the Republican Party, and three registered as Unaffiliated. 

Basic criteria includes:

  • Must be a current Arapahoe County resident and a registered voter at the time of application.
  • Your current political party affiliation (or unaffiliated status) should be the same as when you registered to vote in Colorado or as of Nov. 2, 2020, whichever is recent.  

Please submit your application no later than Friday, Sept. 30, 2022. 

Learn more about requirements to serve on the Committee and to apply.

Apply-now Opens in new window