How Do I
Click to Home

Go To Search
RSSEmailFacebookTwitterLinkedIn

Civil Union License
A “Civil Union” means a relationship established by two eligible parties pursuant to SB 13-011 that entitles them to receive the benefits and protections and be subject to the responsibilities of spouses.

Age Requirements
Both parties must be 18 years of age or older to apply.

Required to Apply
  • Complete  the online Civil Union License Application and then go in-person to a County branch location. Both applicants must appear in person to apply, complete and sign the application.
  • OR Notarized Absentee Affidavit: If one party cannot appear due to illness, because he/she is out-of-state state, or incarcerated, the party applying must bring a completed, signed and notarized absentee affidavit, along with a copy of valid ID (front and back) for the absent party. The absentee affidavit must be notarized in advance.
  • $30 Cash for Civil Union License Fee. Cash only. No credit cards or checks are accepted.
  • Identification for Proof of Age for Both Parties: such as a driver’s license, passport, military ID, State ID or a birth certificate with a photo ID that includes the date of birth.
  • Social Security Number: If either party does not have a social security number, they must sign an affidavit provided by the Clerk's Office when applying for the license.
  • Place of Birth (City and State) must be listed on the application form
  • Parents' Names and Current Addresses must be listed on the application form

Neither person can be a party to another Civil Union or married to another person. Individuals also may not enter into a civil union with a relative (whether by half or whole blood).

Where to Apply
You may apply for a civil union license in any Colorado county, regardless of where you live.
In Arapahoe County, civil union licenses are available Monday-Friday, 7 a.m. - 5 p.m. at the following Clerk and Recorder locations:
  • Administration Building, 5334 S. Prince St., Littleton, 80120
  • Centennial Branch, Arapahoe County Lima Plaza, 6954 S. Lima St., Centennial, 80112
  • Aurora Branch, 490 S. Chambers Road, Aurora 80017
  • Byers Branch, 538 N. Highway 36, Byers 80103 (M-F 8 a.m.-12 p.m. and 1 p.m.-5 p.m.)

Certification of License
The Civil Union License & Certificate is valid for 35 days and may only be used in the state of Colorado. The completed document must be certified and returned for recording within 63 days of certification or fines will be assessed. A ceremony is not required.

The following entities may certify a civil union:
  • Religious (Priest, Minister, Rabbi or religious institution or denomination);
  • Civil (Judge, District Court/County Court Magistrate, or Retired Judge);
  • Indian Nation or Tribe Official;
  • Self-Certifying (Couples may certify their own union. The parties to the union will need to complete the Civil Union Certificate portion of the License.)
    For a civil certification, please contact the Courts to set an appointment.

Name Change After Civil Union
To change your name after a civil union, you will need to contact the Social Security Administration, your Driver's License Office, update your Voter Registration, and any other entity with which you conduct business.

Civil Union License Copy
Copies of civil union licenses are available only at our Littleton Branch in the Recording Division. The fee for a copy is $0.25, or $1.25 for a certified copy. A postage-paid, self-addressed envelope is required with the order.

Civil Union Helpful Resources