Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
We currently contract with The Aurora Animal Shelter for the sheltering and treatment of strays.
The assessor determines the actual (market) value for all real and personal property. Then a percentage (assessment rate) is multiplied by the actual value to determine the assessed value. In Colorado the residential assessment rate is currently 7.2%. For all other properties including commercial, personal property, vacant land and agricultural land, the assessment rate is 29%.
You can get all the information you need in any of the following ways: Search Property information online, use our in office customer service kiosks to research property information. Or, use the copy of your residential comp sheet appraisal (backside of Notice of Valuation) that is mailed with your Notice of Valuation May 1 every odd-numbered year.
In the November 2000 election, Colorado voters passed a Property Tax Exemption for Seniors, known as Referendum A. Qualifying Seniors will see 50 percent of the first $ 200,000 of actual value of their primary residence exempted from property tax. To qualify, at least one owner of a home must be 65 years or older as of January 1, and must have occupied the home as a primary residence for at least 10 consecutive years prior to January 1 of the year he/she applies. The Colorado Assembly reviews annually and has approved funding for the senior citizen property exemption for tax year 2018, payable in 2019.
Notify the County Road & Bridge Division at 720-874-7623.
You can renew at a kiosk anytime – even after the renewal month and your one-month grace period have passed! (However, please note that, by law, a late fee of $25 per month and back ownership taxes will be assessed if you renew after your grace period has expired.)
You can renew at a kiosk immediately after completing a gas emissions test.
Please wait at least two (2) days after a diesel emissions test or after updating your auto insurance before renewing at a kiosk. This allows time for the machine to be updated electronically by testing facilities. The kiosk cannot accept paper proof.
Your renewal postcard will indicate if you need proof of emissions.
You will pay a $3 service fee for every vehicle renewed at a kiosk, or $3.95 at kiosks inside King Soopers stores. This fee pays for the technology and is not assessed nor retained by Arapahoe County. In addition, there is a $0.50 convenience fee to pay by check, or 2.15% convenience fee to pay by credit or debit card.
Note: Arapahoe County has temporarily waived the service fee and check fee through Dec. 31, 2018 for vehicles registered in our county. Our residents will not pay for these fees, but the waiver does not apply to residents from other counties. We have opted to temporarily cover these costs to help encourage our citizens to use the kiosks, at a time when motor vehicle transactions at our service counters are taking longer as a result of the new statewide motor vehicle system.
Colorado MVExpress is a self-service kiosk that offers a fast and easy way to renew your vehicle registration. It is a blue and yellow machine with touch-screen technology that looks similar to an ATM machine. Simply scan the barcode on your renewal postcard, or type your license plate number and the last eight numbers of your Vehicle Identification Number on the touch-screen. The machine will accept your payment and print your registration and license plate tabs on the spot!
You may use any kiosk in the state if your vehicle is registered in Arapahoe County or in another participating county. Please see a list of participating counties.
If you do not live in one of these counties, the kiosks are not available for your transaction. For information, please contact your county motor vehicle office.
Cash, check, credit or debit card are accepted at most locations. However, please note that cash is NOT accepted at the AAA and King Soopers kiosks. Only one method of payment is allowed per transaction.
There are 20 kiosk locations in 12 Colorado counties. Only citizens of the following counties can renew their license plates at a kiosk, and may use any kiosk in the state : Arapahoe, Adams, Boulder, Broomfield, Douglas, El Paso, Fremont, Jefferson, La Plata, Larimer, Mesa and Weld. Find your nearest kiosk at www.arapahoegov.com/kiosk.
No, the kiosk will only process a license plate renewal. It cannot issue replacement tabs or change the name or address on your motor vehicle registration. We hope to expand the capabilities of the kiosks in the future.
Please visit www.arapahoegov.com/DMV for information on how to access these services at a motor vehicle office.
Please call ITI Customer Care at 1-866-955-5258 with questions about your transaction at a kiosk.
Arapahoe County residents may contact Arapahoe County Motor Vehicle at 303-795-4500 with questions about your vehicle registration. Our phones are answered Monday-Friday 7 a.m. - 4 p.m.
Residents of other counties should contact the motor vehicle office in your county with questions about your vehicle registration.
The Recording Division can search to see if your Release of Deed of Trust has been recorded by the lender. If it has been recorded, you can purchase a copy from our office.
If it has not been recorded, you will need to contact your lender and inquire when your loan paperwork will be released.
Use our online Legal Document Search to search for and purchase copies of recorded documents dating back to Feb. 1, 1996. Visit our Recording Division at the County Administration Building, 5334 S. Prince Street, Littleton to search for public records dating back to 1902.
For Court records, such as divorce or probate records, please contact the Colorado Judicial Branch and contact the District Court in which the case was filed.
Order a birth or death certificate through Tri-County Health Department at 303-220-9200 or 6162 S. Willow Drive #100 Greenwood Village, CO 80111. Arapahoe County does not maintain birth or death certificates.
Please use our New Vehicle Fee Estimate Calculator to determine an estimate of your registration fees. This tool works for first-time registrations only, and includes ownership taxes and license fees. It will not include sales tax. It also does not work to estimate fees for a renewal.
Taxes and fees to register vehicles in the State of Colorado are based on age of the vehicle, weight, taxable value, purchase date, and type of license plate requested. See tax rates and fees in Arapahoe County.
If it has been less than 55 days since your temporary tags were issued, please wait to receive a Title Complete postcard in the mail. Once you receive this postcard, you can visit any of your branch offices to register your vehicle.
If it has been more than 55 days since your temporary tags were issued and you have not received a Title Complete postcard, please visit one of our branch offices to request an extension on your temporary tags. The cost is $7.08 for another temporary registration.
See payment options and what to bring to register your vehicle on our Motor Vehicle registration page.
If you have a loan or lease on the vehicle, you also need to bring the security agreement.
You also need a cash, check, credit or debit card for payment of fees and taxes.
Finally, you also need a VIN verification completed by an authorized agent in Colorado. We can do this for you at our branches, weather permitting, for a fee of $12.
For more information, please see these requirements for Out-of-State Titles
-Valid insurance card (fax acceptable)-Declaration page (fax acceptable)-Binder/letter from an insurance company on company letterhead (fax acceptable)-Electronic proof of insurance. This may be, but is not limited to, an insurer-provided electronic image/proof on applicant’s cellular phone, lap top, or other portable type of electronic device.
For more information, see a complete list of Registration Requirements
Renewal postcards are forwardable, but registrations are not. If you updated your address with the U.S. Postal Service, your renewal postcard would have been forwarded to your new address. However, you did not file a change of address specifically with the County's Motor Vehicle Division, then your registration was sent to your old address.
Please come to one of our County offices to request replacement tabs and to file a change of address. We will void the original tabs. There is a cost of $2.37 for replacement tabs, which can be paid by cash, check or credit/debit card. See our locations and hours.
If you have moved to or within Arapahoe County, please update your address online at mydmv.colorado.gov. You will receive a new registration with your new address by mail.
You may also request an address change by calling our hotline at 303-795-4500, or visiting our any of our Motor Vehicle office locations. We can assist with address changes for Arapahoe County residents only.
Please note, if you already received your registration renewal postcard at your old address, it is too late to change your address in order to renew online. Instead, please return the renewal postcard with payment and write your new address in the field provided.
Please use these additional links to change your address on your Colorado Driver's License or ID card, and your Voter Registration.
No. Please contact the county where you now reside. See this list of Colorado counties.
If you do not receive a Title Complete Card prior to your temporary registration expiring, please contact our office at 303-795-4500 for assistance.
Yes! Renew your motor vehicle registration online at http://mydmv.colorado.gov. You will receive your printed registration and tabs in the mail.
Payment Options For Motor Vehicle Registration and Titles:
Our Motor Vehicle offices accept cash, check and money orders, debit cards and credit cards, including Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover. Checks must be payable to Arapahoe County Clerk for the exact amount. We do not accept checks under $10.
Please note that credit and debit card transactions over $10 are subject to a convenience fee of $0.75 + 2.25% of the total amount. This fee is not assessed or retained by Arapahoe County. It is required by a third-party vendor for the State of Colorado.
You will find this information on the paperwork from the dealership. If you do not have the original paperwork, you will need to contact an auto dealership and request the MSRP for your vehicle year, make, model and specific amenities. Arapahoe County cannot provide an MSRP in-person or over-the-phone.
Please mail your registration renewal, along with a check for payment, to Arapahoe County Clerk and Recorder, PO Box 9011, Littleton, CO 80160-9011. Please write your vehicle license plate number on the memo line of your check.
The Arapahoe County Commissioners have been working on this problem for several years. While the jail has been maintained the best it could be, the cost of maintenance has been eating away at the total dollars Arapahoe County has to invest in all its facilities. The reality is that over the last 10 years, the County has invested 20 percent of the money it has available to spend on all 29 facilities it maintains to just keep the jail and court facilities going. It has now reached the point where it no longer makes sense to continue pouring money into the old structure. Also there is no way the existing jail can handle the increased demands brought on by continued growth in the County. There comes a time in the life of any facility when you have to face the fact that it no longer is big enough, sound enough or safe enough to serve its purpose.
In 2018 the County Commissioners authorized the development of a Master Plan for the Arapahoe County Justice Center. The master plan completed in 2019 included evaluating the current condition of the jail and courthouse, exploring what options were available (such as could we add on to the existing jail) and a recommendation of the most cost effective solution available to the County. It was prepared by the independent firm of Reilly Johnson Architecture which specializes in the planning and design of justice facilities, especially jails and courts. The Master Plan for the Arapahoe County Justice Center includes detailed design and construction requirements for the four phases of the project, along with specific cost estimates.
First, we’re just running out of room. It was built to house 386 inmates and now houses over 1,100. Unlike a residential home, you just can’t “pop the top” and add new cells. Second, the wear and tear on your house is nothing like the treatment a jail undergoes 24/7. And third, the infrastructure like plumbing, sewage and electrical just can’t handle the stress of so many more occupants then its original design So, 30 years may not seem old for a house, but in “jail-years” it’s far surpassed its useful life.
The County Commissioners are well aware that citizens are concerned about congestion and pavement condition. As we work toward a solution for the old jail, we are simultaneously looking for ideas and solutions to deal with traffic. The County is in the process of updating its transportation plan and establishing priorities for projects. In many ways, transportation is more complicated than the jail or court house. Transportation funding comes for a number of different sources, including federal and state, and projects often involve many different jurisdictions. But we are moving ahead with transportation and expect an updated plan to be available in 2020.
The LRPC is a citizen-based committee created to provide input and recommendations to the Board of County Commissioners on the County’s priorities –specifically the Judicial Complex and transportation. One of the things the Commission is hoping to receive is a recommendation on how to fund major capital projects.
Ultimately, that depends on you. The Board of County Commissioners will take into consideration any recommendations from the Long Range Planning Committee regarding funding. The Commission also will be looking for input from citizens. Comments can be sent to email@example.com. If the Commission decides to place some sort of tax measure on the ballot, then voters of course will make the final decision.
We live and work in Arapahoe County. Many of us have children who are attending or who have attended schools in the County. Tragedies such as the recent event in our neighboring county and that have happened in our community are heart breaking and strike close to home. The Sheriff and the Board of County Commissioners agree that school safety is a critical need and we will be working together to do all we can to keep our schools safe. These are difficult discussions and hard decisions. They require coordination between all the school districts and cities and towns within the county. Your ideas are important to us as we move forward. We welcome your thoughts. Please send them to firstname.lastname@example.org.
In order to have a review in less than 36 months since the last review, a continuing and substantial change in circumstance must be shown. A brief explanation of the continuing change and any proof of the change has to be provided with the written request for review. If no change or proof is provided, the request may be denied or more information may be requested.
If an agreement cannot be reached, a Motion to Modify Child Support may be filed with the Court by Child Support Services. Note that this does not mean an automatic court appearance. Once the motion is filed, if no objection is received within 15 days, the Court may grant the Motion to Modify Child Support.
With any court filing, a copy must be provided to Child Support Services and the other party. If an objection is filed in a timely manner, the Court may request a hearing.